Finding Solutions

Anyone who knows me, knows that I sometimes don’t know when to stop pushing myself.  I have tons of energy and if I don’t use it up I’m not able to sleep well.  So I do a lot. My days a full and wonderful and I love it! I was fortunate enough to purchase a 3 month unlimited membership to the studio.  That began in April and that first month I only logged 15 workouts in 30 days.  I was just so busy and was only able to fit in 3-4 workouts a week st the studio.  Sometimes I’d be able to add one at home but that wasn’t the norm for April.  As of today, I’ve already gotten in 15 workouts this month at the studio.  I’ve been getting in workouts 6 days a week, usually taking a rest day on Tuesdays.  I didn’t feel like my amount of working out was a big deal honestly.  When I’ve been training for races or triathlons I usually put in 6 days a week and some times get two or three days of two-a-days in each week.

Suddenly, this past Sunday in a yoga class with my mom for mother’s day I experienced a sudden pain in my shoulder.  It had been a bit sore; I did two sessions of yoga Friday totalling about an hour and 45 minutes and then Saturday did the Zone 8 circuit class followed by spynga.  Sunday when I headed to super spynga I noticed a bit of stiffness on the bike and on the mat.  Sunday at Chagrin Yoga, we started of with thread the needle and as soon as I came down on my left shoulder it was a pretty instant discomfort above the ache I’d been feeling.  I brushed it off and had a great class.  Monday was a wonderful long and hot session at Westside Yoga and I felt great after.  In the middle of the night I rolled over on my left shoulder and woke up because it was so uncomfortable.  I wasn’t sure what to do on Tueday. I woke up feeling achy and sore but it didn’t feel serious. I decided to rest that day.  Wednesday was beyond tolerable at work.  My shoulder felt like it was burning up and it was uncomfortable to type.  What’s a girl to do!? I had power yoga and was determined to go and try to get the blood moving through my achy shoulder.

As I sat at work that day, thinking more about how to fix my shoulder than working, I tried to think of what my best options were.  Not working out – not an option.  Getting a massage – maybe a good option but not available until at least Saturday. KT Tape – hmm what’s this all about??? I did some brief research and thought hey, why not?! I begged my brother to run over to Dick’s and grab me some tape while I went to yoga.  Power yoga that night was ok but I felt more frustrated and pathetic than zen like.  When I got home my brother helped tape me up and I noticed a difference immediately.

What exactly is this amazing invention? Well here is what the website says:

KT Tape is made up of reinforced 100% cotton sheathes designed to provide durability and increased strength. These cotton sheathes are embedded into weft yarn to provide uni-directional elasticity- allowing the tape to stretch in length but preventing the tape from stretching in width. These fibers ensure KT Tape will provide stable support without restricting motion.

Here is how it works, KT Tape is applied along muscles, ligaments, and tendons (soft tissue) to provide a lightweight, strong, external support that helps to prevent injury and speed recovery. KT Tape works differently for different injuries. KT Tape can lift and support the knee cap, holding it in place for Runner’s Knee. KT Tape can support sagging muscles along the arch of the foot, relieving the connective tissues for Plantar’s Fasciitis. And KT Tape can lift the stress off of shin splints to allow pain release and give the body a better opportunity to recover. Depending on how it is applied, KT Tape supports, enables, or restricts soft tissue and its movement. By stretching and recoiling like a rubber band, KT Tape augments tissue function and distributes loads away from inflamed or damaged muscles and tendons, thereby protecting tissues from further injury.

By applying KT Tape over affected tissue, athletes experience an external support which helps to prevent further injury and allows the body’s damaged tissue to rest and heal naturally despite continued activity. KT Tape also reduces inflammation and increases circulation which prevents muscle cramping and lactic acid buildup.

Honestly, it works exactly like they claim! And the best part is that you can find video instructions on their website and youtube.com for pretty much any part of the body! It has been about three days I’m almost back to normal!

I would love to tell you that I learned a valuable lesson about not pushing myself or knowing when to stop and rest – which I did do more of this week instead of my plans – but what I did learn is that there exist wonderful options to help with minor injuries or overused muscles to help keep things moving along! I did listen when my body said no more and tried to really pay attention to what my shoulder was saying.  I’m still not pushing things and am trying to build back slowly to let things calm down in my shoulder.  Sometimes the intention is so much more than the movements! This has reminded me that some days you will push past your boundaries and over days you need to stay within them and be ok with that.  Be kind to yourself and listen closely!

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

